PBR VA/DC Player of the Year Watch List

John Nolan
Virginia Assistant Director & Content Manager

UG 6.20

Follow @PBRVirginiaDC 
Facebook + Periscope

Over the last few weeks, we have released our 2018 Preseason All-PBR Team. We focused on recognizing players that we thought were poised to have big seasons as well as an underclassmen team of freshman and sophomores that we expected to provide a major contribution. 

Today we are going to go a step farther and give you a Player of the Year Pre-Season Watch List. The players on this list are the early candidates to follow in Jake Agnos (2016) and Andrew Abbott's (2017) footsteps and earn recognition as our 2018 Player of the Year in June.

One thing that you may notice in common about most of our early Player of the Year candidates is that they are two-way contributors for their teams. In 2016 and 2017, Agnos and Abbott had dominant performances on the mound, but they also were everyday players and important pieces to their teams' lineups during those seasons. While it is possible for a player who just hits or just pitches to have a dominant enough statistical season, being able to contribute on the mound and at the plate certainly helps a player stand above his peers.

Also, while we think that this list includes the most likely candidates to win the PBR Virginia Player of the Year award this spring, its very possible that the player who ends up earning the award is not on this list. Last year's winner of this award, Andrew Abbott, was not on our Preseason Watch List for Player of the Year last year.


Preseason VA/DC Player of the Year Watch List

Name School Position Class Committment
Zach Agnos Battlefield SS/RHP 2019 East Carolina
Wilson Ayers Briar Woods LHP/OF 2018 Naval Academy
Nick Biddison St. Christopher's SS 2018 Virginia Tech
Trey Boll Collegiate LHP/OF 2020 Virginia
Trey Carter Carlisle OF/RHP 2020  
Wesley Clarke Liberty Christian C 2018 South Carolina
Derek Domecq Western Albemarle LHP/OF 2018 Radford
Jack Dragum Hanover RHP/SS 2018 Virginia
Riley Eikhoff Patriot RHP/SS 2020 Virginia
Adam Hackenberg Miller School C/RHP 2018 Clemson
Cade Hungate Abingdon 3B/RHP 2018 Florida State
Matthew Kleinfelter Lancaster RHP/3B 2019 James Madison
Cortland Lawson Paul VI Catholic SS/RHP 2019 Tennessee
Ethan Murray Miller School RHP/1B 2018 Duke
Kyle Novak James Madison 2B 2018 James Madison
Rojo Prarie Lake Braddock OF/RHP 2018 William & Mary
Geo Rivera Lafayette RHP/3B 2019 Old Dominion
Will Schroeder Freedom-South Riding SS/RHP 2018 North Carolina
Jacob Steinberg St. John's College  RHP/3B 2018  
Ethan Williams Cosby C/RHP 2018 Harford CC