Updated Maryland Class of 2017 Rankings Released

Click to edit entry

Follow @PBRMaryland
Like us on Facebook & Instagram

By Jerry Shank
Maryland Scouting Director

With the summer season coming to an end and school starting in the not-to-distant future, PBR Maryland has updated the class of 2017 rankings. This update expands from the Top 40 to the Top 75 players after a busy summer in our relentless effort to find the baseball talent of the state and area.

This marks the second update to the 2017 and there is another change at the top spot. Jeremy Arocho (Maryland commit) of Old Mill has played his way to the No. 1 spot, edging out No. 2 Randy Bednar of Landon. Arocho is a switch-hitter that plays a premium position in baseball, shortstop. He is slick fielding and showed off his talent across the country and could be one of the top middle infield prospects to come out of the state in a few years. 

Bednar (Maryland commit) is not far behind at the No. 2 spot. Bednar is a talented two-way player that currently project higher as a position player with his hitting ability and speed from centerfield. He is still raw on the mound, but shows arm strength from the left side getting up to 87 mph this spring.

Rounding out the top five include Grant Burleson (Parkside HS, Maryland commit), Brandon Dorsey (Calvert Hall, UNC commit), and Kieran Garner (River Hill, uncommitted).

Four new players have made it to the top ten in RHP Brendan Collins (Sherwood HS, uncommitted),RHP/SS Joey Haass (Polytech HS, uncommitted), RHP Emir Garrett (Appoquinimink HS, uncommitted), and 3B/RHP Abe Mow (Milford HS, uncommitted). Three of those four new comers join from the state of Delaware. 

All in all there are nine new players that entered into the top 20 in the rankings. Here is a sneak peek at the top ten.

Rank Name State School Class Pos Commitment
1 Jeremy Arocho MD Old Mill 2017 SS Maryland
2 Randy Bednar MD Landon 2017 LHP Maryland
3 Grant Burleson MD Parkside 2017 LHP Maryland
4 Brandon Dorsey MD Calvert Hall 2017 3B North Carolina
5 Kieran Garner MD River Hill 2017 RHP
6 Brendan Collins MD Sherwood 2017 RHP
7 Joseph Haass MD Polytech (DE) 2017 RHP
8 Eric Lansinger MD Damascus 2017 SS
9 Emir Garrett MD Appoquinimink (DE) 2017 RHP
10 Abraham Mow MD Milford (DE) 2017 3B